Hills & Dales Estate has a unique history that spans over 170 years. The story of the estate begins in 1841 when Sarah Ferrell expanded a small garden begun in 1832 by her mother, Nancy Ferrell. Between 1841 and 1903, Sarah Ferrell developed “Ferrell Gardens” into one of the most widely acclaimed gardens in the Southeastern United States.
Sarah’s husband, Judge Blount Ferrell, died in 1908 and in 1911 the Ferrell property was purchased by Fuller E. Callaway and his wife, Ida Cason, who renamed the estate “Hills and Dales”. Fuller E. Callaway, by then a very successful textile manufacturer, commissioned the noted architectural firm of Hentz & Reid of Atlanta to design a new home. Reminiscent of an Italian villa, the house was built on the site of the old Ferrell home and was completed in 1916. Ida and Fuller also restored the gardens, and carefully added fountains and statuary to enhance the Italianate character of the garden. After Fuller’s death in 1928, Ida continued to live at Hills and Dales and to oversee the gardens until her death in 1936.
Beginning in 1936, Fuller E. Callaway, Jr. and his wife, Alice Hand, took over the care of the estate. They continued to preserve the house and historic garden, while adding selected features until his death in 1992 and her passing in 1998. In accordance with the wishes of Alice and Fuller Callaway, Jr. the estate was given to Fuller E. Callaway Foundation and is now open for the enjoyment and enrichment of the visiting public.